9–15 March 2020

(11.03 – 14.03.2020)

12

WHERE I DRAW THE LINE

Muneera Hamed Alsharhan, Coline Assade, Edwin Charmain, Olga van Doorn, Laura Forte, Lisi Fracchia, Tatjana Kholodnova, Inesa Kovalova, Katharina Kraus, Yael Magnes, Anna Maria Pitt, Francesca Urciuoli

Corneliusstraße 18, Munich, Germany

Schmuckgalerie Silbermann
Wed-Thu 10:00-19:00, Fri 10:00-18:00, Sat 10:00-16:00

Anna Maria Pitt @annamariapitt
Edwin Charmain @pusaka.jewellery

The exhibition “WHERE I DRAW THE LINE” explores how contemporary jewellery artists from across the globe address one of the most important issues of our time: The moment where urbanity meets nature and does not leave nature unchanged.

Coline Assade @colineassade
Francesca Urciuoli @francescaurciuolijewellery

As cities grow and urban infrastructure continues to take over the environment, the exhibition comments on the fragile relationship humanity maintains with the built and the natural world.

 

Tatyana Kholodnova @kholodnova
Laura Forte @lauraforte_official

 

“WHERE I DRAW THE LINE” bridges this divide. Both the geometric shapes of manmade structures, metropolitan landscapes and the organic shapes of nature and vivid greenery, serve as major sources of inspiration for artists. Fusing natural patterns with sculptural geometries, the jewels displayed range from delicate organic forms, spiritual talismans to sculptural brooches and boldly textured rings. By playing with the perceived differences in the visual languages, it invites the viewer to examine their own fascinations with the cityscapes we live in and the countryside we like to escape to.

Inesa Kovalova @by.inesa.k
Katharina Kraus @katharinakraus_jewellery

The jewels will be displayed alongside photographs by emerging photographer Michael Harald, who has created a series of images inspired by nature’s tranquillity and the urgency of city life, thereby asking the audience to consider their personal inspirations in the context of shifting values.

“WHERE I DRAW THE LINE” was curated by Katharina Kraus.

Muneera Hamed Alsharhan @muneeraalsharhan
Olga van Doorn Jewelry @olgavandoornjewelry
Yael Magnes

Muneera Hamed Alsharhan –

www.muneeraalsharhan.com

Coline Assade – www.colineassade.com

Edwin Charmain – www.pusaka.co.uk

Olga van Doorn Jewelry – www.olgavandoornjewelry.com

Laura Forte – www.lauraforte.it

Lisi Fracchia – www.lisifracchia.com

Tatyana Kholodnova – www.attale.ru

Inesa Kovalova – www.inesakovalova.com

Katharina Kraus – www.kathykraus.com

Yael Magnes Art Jewelry – www.yaelmagnes.com

Anna Maria Pitt – www.annamariapitt.com

Francesca Urciuoli – www.francescaurciuoli.com

Schmuckgalerie Silbermann – www.silbermann-schmuck.de